Cozy Flannel Shirt

I have wanted to make this shirt since I saw it in the Ottobre magazine last autumn.

IMGP4585_modifiedLately there have been lots of shirts popping up on the sewing blogs, many Tylers from Named and also Archers from Grainline Studio and that made me look even more often at the pattern I had at hand.  The other day when I was at my fabric store I saw this checked flannel in soft creamy colors with a beautiful burgundy. I touched it and fell in love.  It was so super soft and dreamy, exactly like I imagined for the perfect autumn/winter shirt.IMGP4595_modified  I didn’t buy the fabric in this trip but kept thinking about it so a few days later I went back to the store.  I didn’t find the bolt at first and got a bit anxious that my dreamy fabric was all gone but in the end I found it and bought the whole thing.  There was only a meter and half left which was just enough for the shirt.  When I came home I washed the fabric (as I always do) and hung it in the bathroom to dry.  When my husband came home and saw it in the bathroom, he asked if I was gonna make some dishcloths for the kitchen…IMGP4593_modifiedAnyhow, I made the shirt and I happy with it.  It is just like I wanted it to be.  I did my best to match up all the plaids and it looks right I think.  The collar and collar stand are definitely not perfect. Somehow the under collar became the upper collar (oops) and the collar stand does not match perfectly in the front.  I shortened the sleeves by 3cm but I think that 5 cm would be better. I also shortened the bodice by 5 cm, which I think is a fine length.IMGP4597_modifiedAlso I made a mistake with the cuffs, they are both the same (i.e  not mirror images of each other) meaning that on one side the buttons and buttonholes should change place. I blame this on me being in to much of a hurry to check twice.  I guess you don’t notice unless you are really looking and thinking about shirt construction.  I noticed this too late to have the patient to fix it.   I could also blame the instructions in the magazine a little, they are very brief, not as brief as Burda but still very brief.  IMGP4599_modifiedI think the shirt looks really good with skinny jeans trousers and I also like it with my freshly made  mini skirt.IMGP4556_modifiedAnd I guess I’ll have to make another one of these shirts soon to remind myself of the mistakes I made and to improve my shirt making skills. They can only get better :)

IMGP4550_modified

3 thoughts on “Cozy Flannel Shirt

  1. Pingback: Why seams should be finished properly | Maria Wishes

  2. Pingback: MeMadeMay-half way there… | Maria Wishes

Leave a Reply

