Jersey 1/3 Dress

IMGP4842_PEF_shotwell_modified

 

Often when I see clothes that I really like in stores, worn by other people, on TV or the internet I think of making them for myself and how I could change them to make them better.  When I was in the States recently I bought a very cute, pale pink jersey dress. It is super easy to wear and so girly, I love it.  However it is a bit special, the fabric is nice and should be hand washed and the color is not one I can wear all the time. So I figured I could make a new dress better suited for everyday wear.

I used a bodice IMGP4839_PEF_shotwell_modifiedpattern from Ottobre magazine which I also used for my sweatshirt dress. I compared it to the dress I was trying to copy and made changes according to my wishes. Then based on the waist measurement and my desired length I drafted a skirt which is actually one third of a circle, hence the name.  I think it has just the right flair. I used campan stripes jersey from my stash.  The fabric is super soft cotton with 3% elastane and it feels really good and of high quality. I highly recommend it.  I then sewed the whole thingIMGP4845_PEF_shotwell_modified on my serger except the hem and edges where I used the zig-zag stitch on my sewing machine and I also used clear elastic for the armholes and neckline. It feels great to wear.

The day after I finished my dress, the Closet Case Files released their Nettie pattern and I think there is some resemblance. I surely got ideas to improve my pattern, I love the super low back neckline which I will definitely try.  I already have a pattern for sleeves and lengthening the bodice to make a one piece should not be that difficult. You see, I constantly get new ideas! IMGP4843_PEF_shotwell_modified

 

Leave a Reply

