Ottobre Woman Fall 2013

17 I have to admit when I saw this parka in the fall issue of Ottobre Kids I immediately started planing how I could make it for myself.  You see, I am very short and I sometimes (read often) fit in the bigger sizes (158 or 164) of children clothing. So this would not have been very difficult but it felt weird.

But just look how amazing it is! Who would not want that?

ceci_takki-sarjaLater I found out that Ottobre was planing to have this same parka in adult sizes in their Woman magazine.  So I waited and waited until it finally came out a few weeks ago.

Parka-1-bI bought the issue and was not disappointed when I saw the parka I fell in love with.  I also looked at the other designs in the magazine and there are many that I really like.  I often find that there are only two or three great garments and the other are just not for me, but this time is different.  There are some jersey tops in different varieties which I plan to make, a shirt and a blouse with peplum, some skirts (I have already made one of those (see later)) and a blazer.  I use size 34 and since I am short with such a short back I find it really difficult to find patterns for jackets and coats that fit me.  Jacket patterns usually only get as small as 36 sometimes even 38.  I find this really frustrating.  So maybe I’ll even make the blazer.

But first up is the parka.  I am trying to decide on a color, I think I will make it in black twill, and I have found some red and white polka dot fabric for the lining…at least the fabrics and notions have found their way into a shopping cart in an online fabric shop…ooops!

Leave a Reply

