Sweatshirt dress

IMGP4435_modifiedA couple of days ago we had one of those autumn days where it is sunny, bright and oh so beautiful but with crisp air and cold wind.  When I was walking to the library to study trying to keep warm since the sun had tricked me to think it was warmer outside I got the idea for this dress.  I wanted a dress that was warm, comfy and stylish.  I decided to use sweatshirt fabric since it is thick and made of cotton and also it is a stable knit fabric which I thought would make a comfy dress.

I decided to use black so I could wear it with colorful tights which conveniently are available in thick cotton and wool blends.

The pattern is a mixture.  The bodice is from an Ottobre Woman t-shirt pattern but I changed the neckline. I lowered it and added a neckline band.  The sleeves are from another Ottobre Woman pattern, since the ones for the bodice were short.

IMGP4436_modifiedThe skirt however is my own make.  I’m not gonna go as far as calling it my own design since it is only two rectangles sewn together at the sides and then pleated to fit the bodice.  I am really happy with the front of the skirt.  The back of the skirt is another story.  I guess I learned that you should not place a pleat like that in a thick fabric like this at center back. It really stretches out and if you look at it from the side it really stands out, making my behind look huge and simply strange.  Maybe it’s also because I accidentally cut the skirt to short so the weight isn’t pulling it down or something, but I think this is not the most flattering look:

IMGP4445_modifiedIt was relatively quick to make since I used my serger for almost every seam. I hemmed the sleeves and skirt using the zig-zag stitch since I haven’t been happy with the twin needle result.  The seams never turn out stretchy enough and the threads always break.  I also read this post on Sewaholic about seaming in knit clothing.  I really agree with her on what see says about the zig-zag stitch and I’m going to use it more from now on.

IMGP4439_modifiedApart from the skirt issues I am really happy with this dress and I know I will wear it a lot even though it has those flaws.  An those flaws only give me an excuse to make another one of those dresses which is never a bad thing, right?

2 thoughts on “Sweatshirt dress

  1. Pingback: Pause | Maria Wishes

  2. Pingback: Jersey 1/3 Dress | Maria Wishes

Leave a Reply

