Fabrics

I know it has been a bit quite here for the last week or so.  I got caught up preparing a presentation for a seminar at uni.  Since then I’ve been sewing a lot but haven’t had the opportunity to take any photos yet.  It gets dark really early now after we reset the clock two weeks ago.  So I should have used the weekend to take some photos of my projects but I really wasn’t in the mood. Also, I spent most of my free time sewing a shirt which only needs buttons and buttonholes now.

Last weekend there was a fabric market downtown.  It comes here every 2-3 months and it is HUGE!  The first time I saw it I thought I was in heaven.  It has all kinds of fabrics in every color, pattern, fiber, thickness and the notions, WOW! Everything you could dream of, it’s there.  The market is always packed with people (ok mostly women) with huge shopping bags (home made) or pulling shopping trolleys behind them which they fill with all the lovely fabrics.  It can be tricky to get around there and you have to be pretty determined, there is not much room to deliberate and the staff are so busy cutting fabrics for everyone it may take a while to get what you want.

This time I wasn’t feeling motivated enough and I wasn’t in the mood to push around.  I only got two things, navy and white polka dot cotton jersey and black and white polka dot silk.  I am excited about the silk since I’ve never really made anything with silk before.  Although I may just become a lining for a skirt or a nighty I am looking forward to working with it.

These past few weeks I have often been to my local fabric shop and looked at their discount rack.  They always keep this rack outside with leftover fabric (0.5-2 meters) which they sell with 50% off.  I have gotten good deals there.  Last time I went I found the perfect wool blend to make a skirt I’ve had on my mind for a few weeks.  I talked about it in a previous post and since then I have not gotten it of my mind. So I guess this skirt is next on my sewing list. And I may just give it a silk lining, how luxurious would that be?1181895

Leave a Reply

