On my Needles part 1

IMGP4849_PEF_shotwell_modifiedI am going to try to add a regular post on this blog.  I will call it “On my Needles” and I plan to show my knitting and crochet WIP.  I do not know if this will be a weekly thing or just random, we’ll see.

Right now I am working on two knitting projects. The first is the Waterlily top from PomPom quarterly issue 8.  It is knit in soft silk from BC garn in grey.  The yarn is very lovely, it has lots of character and texture and I am sure that the top will feel great to wear. I have never knit a garment in silk before but thought I would wear it more in summer rather than a top made of wool. I guess I could have made it in cotton but it did not occur to me when I was choosing the yarn.  I have almost finished the top, I only have the lace part of the front left and then the usual finishings.   IMGP4851_PEF_shotwell_modifiedThe second project is from the same issue of PomPom.  It is the Brolly shawl knit in thin wool from Geilsk.  The yarn they use in the magazine is Swedish and a bit of a bother to buy if you do not live there.  The yarn from Geilsk is Danish but has the same yardage and wight and also comes in a wide range of colors.  It is easily accessible for me since it is sold in an online store here in Germany so I chose that instead.  I love the colors.  This is a very easy and mindless knit, perfect for on the go.  I usually have it with me when I am on the train and also when I take my boys to the playground.IMGP4847_PEF_shotwell_modifiedIMGP4848_PEF_shotwell_modified

Leave a Reply

